There's been a rise in gluten-free oat products recently opening up a whole host of new and tasty products. Top of my list at the moment are these oat crackers from Nairn's:
Truth be told I have a weakness for cheese and crackers, easily one of my favourite snacks. I have to stop myself from eating the entire box they're so moreish.
I actually think Nairn's should make bags of them, kind of like gluten free mini-cheddars. I wouldn't be able to resist!
But I thought oats weren't gluten-free?
Oats actually contain a protein that's similar to gluten called "avenin" - usually oat products aren't suitable for coeliacs because of cross contamination in the manufacturing process.
Nairn's state on the packaging that their oats are milled and processed separately to ensure they remain free from gluten.
The general advice is to introduce oats slowly in to your diet and consult your doctor before doing so.
Have you tried them? Let me know what you think via twitter